Everything you need to know for cannabis-based businesses
Measure 91 allowed recreational dispensaries to open for business and sell marijuana to adults (21 and older) in addition to serving medical patients. However, there are strict guidelines that these dispensaries need to abide by. If you are planning on opening a medical or recreational dispensary in Oregon, this is what you need to know.
First, the legalization of recreational marijuana doesn’t effect Oregon’s medical marijuana program. Patients can apply for their medical marijuana card on Oregon’s Public Health Department’s website (https://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/MedicalMarijuanaProgram/Pages/forms.aspx). At the time being, Oregon does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards, but you can use your Oregon medical marijuana card in the following states: Arizona, Delaware, Maine, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, Rhode Island.
As of 2016, state-licensed recreational businesses can sell cannabis to adults over the age of 21. Adults purchasing cannabis, are limited to one-quarter ounce per person, per visit, per day. Recreational businesses can only operate between the hours of 7:00pm and 10:00pm, and the owners of the businesses can choose when to operate within that timeframe.
Be mindful of where you are planning on opening your recreational cannabis business. DO NOT attempt to apply for a recreational license in the following counties/cities as recreational cannabis sales are still ILLEGAL there.
Oregon residents that are over 21 years old can grow up to 4 plants at home as long as it’s not in public view. Cultivating cannabis within 1,000 feet of school grounds is a class A felony and publishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $375,000. Cultivating anything over 4 plants required a licensed production site and medical marijuana grow site.
Oregon requires cannabis businesses to utilize seed-to-sale software to track and trace cannabis from the growers, to the testing facilities, to the dispensaries. This helps eliminate black market deals and keeps the industry safe and regulated. Growers, testing facilities and dispensaries all need to be utilizing seed-to-sale software to apply for a license; licenses are not being granted without the software.
Please visit Oregon’s state website if you are ready to apply for a license. (https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/)